top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Ikner

Finding the Lord in the busyness of life

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me-watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy on or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:29-30 (MSG)

Spending time in God’s presence is life-changing and here are some reason why it is so difficult. First, it is hard because, “ We do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers,  against the authorities, against the cosmic powers  over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Ephesians 6:12  The demons know that once we spend time with God we will feel better and they know the Lord’s power because in Matthew 8:31 the demons are begging to be sent to the pigs. They know Jesus is the real deal, and once we spend time with Him we’re better so that’s why they do everything in their power to keep us busy and to keep us away from God and His mighty power.

Second, “I took my troubles to the Lord; I cried out to Him, And He answered ,my prayer”  Psalm 120:1 (NLT) If were in battle, and if you were the enemy and knew that Jesus could answer prayer, wouldn’t you do everything to prevent the Lord’s people from praying? The best thing though is in busyness you can pray because you pray wherever you’re at. Honestly, for the last three weeks prayer has been battle and so has busyness because I have not made time for the Lord. I have a lot of school work, but it’s not school’s fault. It is my fault because if I really wanted it there would be time. The only time I really prayed last week was when I was in a dangerous situation. I honestly thought I was not going to make to my mom’s school because I could not see through the windshield. It was covered in water and foggy, and I had on the heat because I thought that would get rid of the fog, bu it didn’t. Anyway when we do not pray our lives can be like my windshield. It was foggy and unclear but once we pray the Lord clears it and we have a better view.

Last, “You will look for Me and find Me, when you look with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13.  We do not have to play hide and seek with Jesus. Once you spend time in his presence you will find Him. In busyness it is difficult. I have been there for the past three weeks but here is the deal, Jesus is everywhere and you can seek Him anywhere you are at. Maybe on the way to work or school you can listen to Jesus music, a Christian podcast, or the Bible on the phone. A great thing is whatever you are busy with, you are blessed with it. Whatever you do, work at with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters. Colossians 3:23.  Whatever the Lord has blessed you with just do with all your heart because the Lord knows.

Related image
0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page