top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeremy Ikner

Slipping Into A New Season With Jesus 

A week ago, I did not expect to be spending half of my senior year in a wheelchair and on crutches. Even though God was preparing me, the thing is with a fall or trial you do not see it coming, even when God has already met you there. In Haiti each night we would get asked the question, “where did you see God today”? Over this past week, before the slipping and after slipping, I have been looking for where I saw God in the calm before storm and He is in all of it. God is in our trial before we even slip into it. And if you look back or are currently in a tough season, God may have put a person in your path who has gone through the same season or a similar season and even better, God may have been molding you for that person who is going through that season so that God’s victory could be known. The day before I slipped God was preparing me but I didn’t realize or follow through with the preparation. I slipped Thursday and that Wednesday morning I read a Jesus Calling devotion. There was a quote that stuck out. It said “Enjoy my good gifts, but do not cling to them.” That day I went to the Perry fair with a club. On the way there, I was reading Daring To Hope by Katie Davis and one of the stories that stuck out was about a drunk man in a village in Uganda. His leg got badly burned and the doctors there told Katie that she would have to bandage his leg for a certain amount of time and in that time he accepted Christ! Sometimes healing does not happen immeadtly or the way we think. Sometimes God heals us through storms and trials. That day I recived third place in a contest which was a gift from God but not the gift I was clinging to. I was clinging to driving. I got my license in July and had been driving for three months. That night I drove from the school to the store to home to church. That night at church, my pastor spoke on how we need to be in the Word and prepared for circumstance. Honestly, I used excues for not spending time with Jesus so Jesus was trying to get me ready, but I wasn’t. Thursday morning on the way to school I listened to a Passion City podcast and Louie was talking about spiritual warefare and how we need to be ready for the battle in the full armor of God. God was defantily telling me get ready. But I so was not. It’s crazy how God works because three or four hours before I slipped in my healthcare class, we were learning about fractures. Than after my third class the slipped happened and the verse my mom had on her heart that week was When I said, “My foot is slipping”, your unfailing love, Lord supported me. (NIV) Psalms 94:18. That day I saw God in the people who helped me up and my awesome friends who took me to the nurse. It was by God’s grace that I made it the rest of the day at school. Friday was scary for alot of reasons. That morning I went to my grandparents’ house and got my X Ray results. The first thing we were told is that I could not eat or drink in case of surgery and that I might ride in ambulance to Augusta. The final result was my hip was broken and that I had to go Alanta to a children’s hospital and that I couldn’t eat or drink anything. While this was happening and in the waiting my grandparents prayed and they were listening to a pastor talking about spiritual warefare! On the way up to Alanta I was thinking how I could not face another surgery and go through all of it again because the hardest part about a surgey is not knowing the outcome. But I made it through with Jesus and on the way up there my verse of the day on the Bible app was Jermiah 29:11 so no matter what happens God will bring you through the eye of the storm stronger and closer to you. For I am sure of this very thing, That the one who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. Phillpans 1:6 (NLT) I am not sure what the Lord has in store for this new season in my life and the good that will come out of the hurt, but I know He will finish His good work through the storm.


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page